Week Nine: Nostalgia


~The scars will be ugly, but not the one who bears them. A memory of that distant thunder…~

Thanks to Czar for taking us back to the good ol’ days for this week’s theme! Too bad my childhood wasn’t eventful enough that I’d feature a part of it for my piece, so I revisit the past of one of my characters instead.

Said character is Reikei, a ninja who became the victim of a lightning strike as a child. The accident left him with scars on both hands, but also bestowed him with various psionic and psychokinetic abilities, due to the high amount of electrical current that passed through his body during the strike. He doesn’t utilize ninjitsu as is commonly associated with ninja, but rather hones a unique hybrid of the psionic energy and qi, which is then discharged through his hands in the form of free-running, combustive electricity or focused in the shape of blades.

I experimented with various brushes and colors to emulate a stormy, summer sky for the background, and a fresh, bleeding wound on Reikei’s hands. I’ve always referred to scars in the shape of Lichtenberg figures/feathering as “sunburst” scars (which I’ve recently learned the proper term), and I hoped to incorporate these patterns instead, but I find them too time-consuming to draw.

Leave a Reply

